The National Energy Transition Task Force together with PT Perusahaan Listrik Negara (PT PLN) launched The Joint Office for Energy Transition in the Power Sector ("The Joint Office") on Wednesday, 17th January 2024, to help advance implementation of energy transition in the power sector in line with Indonesia's goals to reach net zero by 2060 or sooner.

The Joint Office is to serve as a coordination and communication hub across policy makers from various ministries as agencies as well as business actors, investors and bilateral and multilateral partners to support the timely implementation of energy transition in the power sector. Therefore, the Just Energy Transition Partnership (JETP) Secretariat, will coordinate with the Joint Office for the implementation of JETP Priority Projects.

In Indonesian, the Joint Office is also called RUMAH PATEN, which stands for the House of Planning the Action of National Energy Transition (Perencanaan Aksi Transisi Energi Nasional). 

Specifically, the Joint Office is hosted by PT PLN together with the Coordinating Ministry for Maritime and Investment, Coordinating Ministry  for Economic Affairs, The Ministry for Energy and Mineral Resources, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of State Owned Enterprises, Ministry of Environment and Forestry as well as PT Sarana Multi Infrastruktur (PT SMI). 

The Joint Office is to report to and receive guidance from the Implementation Unit of the National Energy Transition Task Force, led by Deputy Coordinating Minister of Maritime Affairs and Investment for Infrastructure and Transport Coordination, Rachmat Kaimuddin. It is located in Jakarta.

Read the PLN press release here